top of page
Search
  • meghanmcouture

Coming Together


 

My time at Four O’Clock Farm is unfortunately coming to a close.


When I first arrived to the farm, I was worried about feeling lonely over my two weeks here, as I was the only WWOOFer who would be helping during this time. I knew I would spend my time with Susan and Jim, but, along with my worry of loneliness, I was worried for their sanity, as not many people can handle two weeks alone with me. But, here we are, nearing the end, and I have survived (I wont speak on behalf of Jim or Susan though…). The loneliness I had feared was never even remotely an issue, as I had been wrong about the situation from the start.


 


The farm is not just Susan, Jim, and the odd WWOOFer they have helping at that time; it is their community as well.


 

Friends bring over funny memories to share over lunch along with blueberries from their garden to preserve. Neighbors share apples from their tree and stories of their missing peacocks. Vendors at the farmer’s market act as your weatherman as they help you tear down your tent for the day. The farm never has a shortage of guests, whether it’s for weekly movie nights, pizza dinners, or, if you’re Norman the cow, a four-month, all-inclusive, farm stay.

As most friends are, Susan and Jim's friends are also good at capturing awful candid photos.


I had always thought of farming as a very individual thing, something that remains at the household level. However, after seeing Susan and Jim interact with their community over the last two weeks, I realize that couldn’t be farther from the truth. Though I think Four O’Clock Farm would still be a great place without the ties it has with its community, it wouldn’t be anything like it is today. Susan and Jim provide people with garlic, eggs, flowers and a lifetime-dose of sarcasm, while they are provided with support and encouragement in their farming endeavors. This care shown throughout the community really manifests itself in Four O’Clock Farm, making it such a beautiful place, and I am so proud to say that I have gotten to play a part in it, no matter how small that part may be.

 

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page