top of page
Search
  • meghanmcouture

The Boring One About Soil

Updated: Nov 11, 2020


 

Soil. I know it may be boring to some, but I just had to write a post about it!

I always knew it was a necessary part of the plant-growing process, but I had never realized how major its role was until taking Global Agricultural Sustainability this past Fall semester. Poor soil quality can make or break a farmer’s business, so I was excited to see what the soil situation was at Four O’Clock Farm.


 

The soil here at the farm has a very high clay content.

 

One of their gardens, the “Forgotten Garden,” is left untouched, with its soil in its natural state. The soil is orange, and even leaves its mark in the oddly-colored hairs of the garlic that is grown there. Unfortunately, beyond turning roots orange, the clay in the soil leads to many more serious issues, the main one here being poor water infiltration. The weather has been very hot and relatively dry, causing the plants to receive little water to begin with. However, the clay soil, with its very small pore space, allows for very little of the already scarce water to reach the plants' roots.



 

In the main garden, however, Susan and Jim have taken steps to address the issues with the soil by amending it. This is often done by mixing organic material into the soil, opening up the pore space a bit and making a more desired, loam texture. Susan and Jim have found that adding the manure from their donkeys has been most effective (thanks Flora and Josie!). In the main garden, water infiltrates much better into the soil. When I water in the mornings, it does not pool on top nearly as fast as it does in the “Forgotten Garden.”


 

Despite the issues with the soil, the plants in the “Forgotten Garden” are still thriving. Yes, maybe they come out with hairs a bit red, but they grow and produce fruit just as in main garden. It may take a bit more time and effort put in by Susan, Jim, and the plants themselves, but they thrive where they are planted.


This has been on my mind as I work, still grieving my lost Summer in Myanmar. But, I am here, in Tennessee, at a beautiful farm with a wonderful couple, learning and growing where I have been placed. The process of this Senior Project may be different than I planned, and I will come out on the other side of this experience different than I had hoped, but the things I learn here with the help of Susan and Jim will be just as beautiful and valuable had I learned them in Myanmar.


I am growing where I have been planted.

 

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page